What makes you answer questions here on MrExcel? [a survey on knowledge sharing]

snowblizz

Hi,

My name is Henri Korvela (on MrExcel, I'm snowblizz) and I am a PhD student/researcher at the Åbo Akademi University in Turku (Åbo in Swedish), Finland. Some of you know me, most do not, but I’ve been a member for a few years now and am now at a point where I would like the help of the MrExcel community in a matter somewhat related to the Excel. That is helping me answering the question: what makes you answers questions, and what can be done to make this easier for you.
As such, I am mainly aiming the survey towards those who answer questions here on MrExcel, on some kind of regular basis. For short we could say “experts” but that does in no way assume any level of expertise, official or otherwise, nor any particular post count. I myself am at best a moderate level user but would still term myself “expert” in this case on the account of sometimes answering questions on the forum when I can. I have asked the moderators to particularly bring this to the attention of the MrExcel MVPs, but I would encourage anyone who answers questions to respond as well as to spread awareness of the survey to your friends here on MrExcel.

My background for this survey is that I have been researching how end-users could get better support for developing software, e.g. with Excel, by going on-line. A few years ago I was recommended some forums by a reviewer and stumbled upon MrExcel. Since then I have found that a virtual community like MrExcel is and could be a really good way of providing support for a developer, regardless of the level of expertise one has.
Most experienced users are aware of dos and don'ts on-line. There is a lot of anecdotal evidence of ways to better reach the experts. I am trying to confirm that empirically.