Training advice

dunlopoil

Board Regular
Hi,
I work in Marketing, covering things such as designing adverts, posters, technical manuals etc. (I have a degree in Graphic Design). I also use Excel on a daily basis, e.g. extracting supply records for customers, creating a sales enquiry register etc. I have a reasonable familiarity with Excel (greatly enhanced due to recently discovering this forum!) but want to take a step up a level from my current rather scattershot knowledge to a more structured level. I would greatly appreciate any advice on a training path I could take from here. I presume VBA would be a good starting point.

Ideally I ultimately want to be able to combine my Excel knowledge with my skills in Adobe design software including web design. The key thing is that I want to focus on a couple of applications and really get to know them well rather than having small amounts of knowledge of many applications without the ability to put this to practical use.

Many thanks in advance.

Excel Facts

Is there a shortcut key for strikethrough?
Ctrl+S is used for Save. Ctrl+5 is used for Strikethrough. Why Ctrl+5? When you use hashmarks to count |||| is 4, strike through to mean 5.
Hi Dunlopoil,

Take a browse around the MrExcel Store.

There you will find a most informative selection of
literature & media to assist in your quest !!!!!!!!!!

Good Luck !!

HTH

Russ

Thanks Russ. I've been doing this already. I suppose my fear was that this approach might be a bit unfocused, but maybe I would get just as much out of this as formal tutored training, the only downside being a lack of tangible proof that I would get from a course certificate. Have you found this a problem at all?

Hi,

Though I'd reply to this post rather than my other one.

I've done a fair few courses over the years including 2-3 day intermediate and advanced courses and an advanced ECDL in Excel.