My unusual collection

diddi

Office Version
  1. 2010
Platform
  1. Windows
i thought i would chat about my collection of chemical elements. its a bit of a shameless ad as well because if anyone else collects elements, maybe they would like to network... anyway, back to the elements. i have been collecting for 20 years or so and only have about 15 to go apart from the ones that are virtually impossible to get unless you are the dean at Berkley University. its a quite accessible collection, that people with no scientific knowledge find quite intriguing.

there are metals that melt on a warm day, or form wierd crystaline shapes, others that are so dense, a tennis ball sized lump would weigh over 3.5kgs. then there are metals so light they float on oil, and others so reactive, they explode in air, or so soft they can be sliced up with a kitchen knife.

there are shiney grey crystals that turn into purple gas without melting, blood red liquids that fill their container with red gas without boiling...

its all very interesting (to me at least).

if you have a collection to brag about, why not have a go now?

Excel Facts

How to find 2nd largest value in a column?
MAX finds the largest value. =LARGE(A:A,2) will find the second largest. =SMALL(A:A,3) will find the third smallest
Well that is absolutely fascinating. Of course as a chemist I am interested in all elements but I never thought to collect them.

I think that iodine is my favorite - heat it and it sublimes into a purple gas.

For the transuranic elements I think that you would need your own reactor or resurrect Glenn Seaborg from the dead.

Again, absolutely interesting. In my work I look at trace elements in drinking water but we never try to isolate them.

I love this idea. Where do you keep them and which ones are you missing? Where an element has several allotropes, do you collect them too? Have you lost any prized ones due to contamination/chemical reactions?

@VoG