Lunch and smoke breaks

xyzabc198

Board Regular
Hi there, I work with a company that gives me 1hr lunch break, but no cigarette breaks, I find I need at least 2 in the morning and 2 in the afternoon...is there any law that will help me with this?
I know this aint excel related but just wondered

Excel Facts

Format cells as time
Select range and press Ctrl+Shift+2 to format cells as time. (Shift 2 is the @ sign).
I wouldn't call it a Cigarrette break, but I think the law requires at least 15 minute break for every 4 hours worked, plus at least 30 minute Lunch if over 6 hours worked..

something like that..I'm not a lawyer, so don't quote me....LOL..

No law that I'm aware of I'm afraid. As far as I know they are within their rights to determine that you should be working for specific times of the day but not for excessive periods although I'm no expert on employment law.

No quite the same but I used to smoke during the day at my old job when you didn't have to account for the time. As soon as I started my current one you had to knock 10 mins off your time for every smoke break you took. I cut down to 1 in the morning and one in the afternoon pretty quickly and then stopped smoking before 5pm totally. In the end it has led to me quitting completely, well mostly.

I'm surprised they don't let you sign out for a mid morning break though and make the time up elsewhere.

Dom

I wouldn't call it a Cigarrette break, but I think the law requires at least 15 minute break for every 4 hours worked, plus at least 30 minute Lunch if over 6 hours worked..

something like that..I'm not a lawyer, so don't quote me....LOL..
That is U.S. law, but Bordon, Hants is in the U.K. (I believe) so I doubt it would apply there. :)

Last edited:
There are few companies here in Michigan, that have banned employees from smoking altogether, at work or home...

There are few companies here in Michigan, that have banned employees from smoking altogether, at work or home...