Excel Ribbon

daniels012

I have used Excel for about 20 years now. I was an avid Quattro Pro user before that.

I would like to here anyone's opinion about their thoughts on the Excel Ribbons. I know they came out in '07 version of Excel. I just would like to here pro's and con's on what the experts have to say.

My personal opinion is I really don't like them. I found that I recreated most of my mostly used items in my Quick Access Toolbar.

I have found that it actually has slowed me down. Many times when I have a ribbon open Data Validate or Unprotect a sheet I then want to change a font... so I have to move up and go over to another ribbon. A task much easier in older versions.

I would love to hear others thoughts and also give feedback to the powers that be at Microsoft.

Michael D

Excel Facts

Add Bullets to Range
Select range. Press Ctrl+1. On Number tab, choose Custom. Type Alt+7 then space then @ sign (using 7 on numeric keypad)
I’m getting used to the ribbon but yeah, I think I have moved from hate to mild dislike.

Although I am still using 2003 on my main computer and 2010 on the laptop, so I’m not helping myself with a foot in both camps.
I find things that I generally use together like conditional formatting and name manager should be closer.

There is probably some logic to the layout but it’s a new tricks and old dogs scenario. Maybe I should get rid of the old 2003 version and mentally move over.

I used to find this helpful for the basic stuff
http://office.microsoft.com/asstvid.aspx?&type=flash&assetid=XT010149329&vwidth=1044&vheight=788