Am I thinking right?

jim may

Just saw this (Typical) type message from someone/somewhere who has Excel in their office. And probably, there isn't anyone in the office that has needed experience to perform their request (that's plenty of offices in the world, I'm sure).

Anyway, here's my gripe (concern?). I make my living performing Excel Tasks/applications, automating office routines, etc...
All to often this site and others ends up be "Application Central" for freeloaders wanting something-for-nothing, a sort of welfare state mentality.
And it ticks me off. Before saying any more, is there a consensus among the group here on this subject? If so, I'd like to hear it.

Jim May:stickouttounge:

Here's the message:

Sending data from multiple sheets to one master sheet

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi there,

I'm trying to do something that's probably way over my head, but here goes.

We have several people filling in a copy of the same spreadsheet all day and are hoping that there's a way to transfer the data to a master spreadsheet in some automated manner without having to copy and paste it on a daily basis.

I'm assuming that if it is possible, it would involve VB, which I've yet to use but have used other languages and am eager to give it a shot. I'd be really grateful if anyone point me in the right direction.

Thanks

Excel Facts

Format cells as date
Select range and press Ctrl+Shift+3 to format cells as date. (Shift 3 is the # sign which sort of looks like a small calendar).