Access Field Not Updating

Excel_77

Office Version
  1. 2019
Platform
  1. Windows
I have an Excel spreadsheet uploaded to Access, and created a table in Access for it to feed into. I needed a new field so I updated my source spreadsheet and added the field into my Access table, however the information from the Excel spreadsheet has not fed into my Access table, what could be wrong?

I've refreshed the tables and the link is working.

I'm very new to Access.

Excel Facts

Shade all formula cells
To shade all formula cells: Home, Find & Select, Formulas to select all formulas. Then apply a light fill color.
Did you import the Excel spreadsheet, or link it?
If you linked it, I believe you will need to refresh the links in order to see it.
If you imported it, it will not show up automatically, you would need to re-import the data.

Upvote 0
Did you import the Excel spreadsheet, or link it?
If you linked it, I believe you will need to refresh the links in order to see it.
If you imported it, it will not show up automatically, you would need to re-import the data.

It's linked to a spreadsheet on my desktop, the source spreadsheet within Access has updated with the field and I have refreshed the links to no avail.

Last edited:
Upvote 0
added the field into my Access
How exactly did you do that? I didn't think you are able to edit the table properties of a linked table in Access?

To refresh the table, right-click on it, select "Linked Table Manager", check the table, and click OK.

Upvote 0
I have tried to delete it and reimport it but the table I have setup in Access still can't pick up on it.

Upvote 0
I have tried to delete it and reimport it but the table I have setup in Access still can't pick up on it.
I am finding your statements a bit confusing. I cannot tell if you have imported the table or linked it.
If you deleted the table in Access, there would be no table to pick it up.