VBA / Access work for a bank?

poiu

Hi everyone,

I was wondering if anyone here has ever worked for a bank using Access/VBA? I come from a commercial cost centre reporting / MIS background and was wondering how different working for a bank would be?

Many thanks if anyone could shed some light.

Poiu

Excel Facts

Best way to learn Power Query?
Read M is for (Data) Monkey book by Ken Puls and Miguel Escobar. It is the complete guide to Power Query.
I work in a bank, but never use Access. Because of Microsoft's price structure, it was too expensive to get Access for everyone, so most users (about 95%) ended up with Office Basic. Any database stuff was either maintained on our AS/400 or in an Excel spreadsheet. For more advanced stuff, I write Excel VBA macros to give the users what they need. Most of my duties now involve downloading raw data from the AS/400 and manipulating it in Excel via VBA and pivot tables.

I don't know if I answered all your questions or not, but I'll gladly answer any additional questions you may have.

Sticks hand up and waves :biggrin:

At the moment I am also working in/for a bank. I create reporting solutions with a variety of software, mainly Excel as frontend for end-users because everyone in the bank has Excel. Like TinaP said, here also not everyone gets access to Access (hehe, nerdy pun alert :warning:), so I work around that by using DAO or ADO or ODBC to connect to the backend Access database from within Excel. No extra Access licenses needed for that.
For the rest I get to use other databases like SQL Server and Oracle, and some frontend reporting solutions like Business Objects and SAS (kind of a hybrid between database and reporting solution). I never directly connect to the mainframe though.

So, what questions do you have?