The 'average' excel user

boris_excel

Hello,

This is my first post on mrexcel.com after lurking for months. This site has provided great information!

I am a recruiting manager for an electronics company and I am often asked by my managers to hire someone with at least an 'average' knowledge of excel. I have often debated the definition of 'average' with my managers and I was curious what people on this board think. Does the average user know pivot tables? or vlookup? how about recording a macro?

I know the average changes among job functions. Finance and accounting tend to have heavier excel users but most people use excel in one way or another.

thanks,

B

Excel Facts

Shade all formula cells
To shade all formula cells: Home, Find & Select, Formulas to select all formulas. Then apply a light fill color.
Boris,
My view on the 'Average User' would most likely be someone who can do a vlookup, at least knows what a pivot table is, but would most likely only be aware of macro's as a recorded key stoke maker, versus actual VBA programming. Someone with this level of knowledge is going to be middle of the road when it comes to excel.

HTH
Cal

PS- Welcome to the board!!!

In my opinion, the average user can open Excel and type data into a cells. They may be aware of some functions like SUM and DATE. That's about it.

My view is based up on the fact that millions of people "use" Excel, but not many people really know how to use it effectively.

You probably want someone that has above average knowledge of Excel. :twisted: (or if they need to know how to use Pivottables or any of that other junk, tell them what you need)