Stop counting days if another cell is populated

Charry118

Hi All,

First off, I am a self taught excel user, so some of my formulas may go around the world a bit!

I need some help with a spreadsheet I use on a regular basis.

The sheet is used to track customer complaints and how long the investigation takes to complete, therefore the following applies;
D column = Date Raised
E column = KPI Completion date (D1+7)
F column counts the actual number of days to complete the investigation using this formula... =DATEDIF(D1,TODAY(),"d")
Currently I have to manually write the final count in F when the investigation is closed out, however I would like this cell to stop counting when AB1 is "Yes"

I'm not sure if I will need to completely change the formula in the F column.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Excel Facts

Which came first: VisiCalc or Lotus 1-2-3?
Dan Bricklin and Bob Frankston debuted VisiCalc in 1979 as a Visible Calculator. Lotus 1-2-3 debuted in the early 1980's, from Mitch Kapor.
Just to clarify, what do you want to appear in column F once it has stopped counting? Is it the number of days the case took?

Upvote 0
Welcome to the Board!
Currently I have to manually write the final count in F when the investigation is closed out, however I would like this cell to stop counting when AB1 is "Yes"
Do you have some cell that tracks/captures the Date that the investigation was closed out?
If so, we could easily incorporate that into our formula.
If not, it will probably require some VBA code to capture the date when someone enters "Yes" in AB1, and then either stores that date somewhere to use in the calculation on the sheet itself, or overwrites your formula in cell F1 with the hard-coded value of the calculation.

Upvote 0
If you click inside the cell in column F and press F9, the formula will be converted to a value. Can you work with that?

Upvote 0
Welcome to the Board!