need more than seven if statements

robt

I know i can only nest seven if statements in excel. Trouble is i have 12 conditions! any help much appreciated

cheers
rob

Excel Facts

Copy formula down without changing references
If you have =SUM(F2:F49) in F50; type Alt+' in F51 to copy =SUM(F2:F49) to F51, leaving the formula in edit mode. Change SUM to COUNT.
So many Ifs are seldom needed and the problems for which they are invoked are often solvable with lookup formulas. Care to describe the problem you want solve along with sample data and desired results?

Upvote 0
I am a school teacher,

there are twelve subjects which pupils could take and i am given a predicted points score for each subject e.g. 2.3 for biology, 4.5 for maths etc.

This info is in a spreadsheet, i know that a certain points score equates to a certain grade and i want to turn all these points for each pupil into grades on the sheet.

the pupils are in column a with the subjects across the others in row 1

Upvote 0
no e.g

joe bloggs has these scores for twelve subjects:
each subject needs to be converted to a grade
7.6 etc etc

I know that anything greater than 1.3 is a 'G' grade, greater than 2.3 is 'F/G'. etc Iwould usually use a nested IF but with so many grades there are too many

Upvote 0
Hi

Alan is correct lookup will do the job. If you set para 4 of the lookup to 1 then a failure to find a value will result in the nearest value below is returned. This is ideal for returning grade boudaries:-

Score Grade
1.3 G
2.3 F/G
3.3 F

By looking up the score for instance 2.5 the return would drop back to 2.3 then return F/G as grade, if socre is 2, G would be returned

=Vlookup(B1,Table_1,2,1) where B1 is the value being tested Table_1 is a range name for where your grade boundary table is the 2 is for the 2nd col in the table(to return) and the 1 sets the list as 'organised' - ie your grades/scores MUst ascend down the table.

Upvote 0
hi,