Is it possible for a user form to inherit editable text from a worksheet?

dbancroft

Hello all,

I'm still working on my design problem: allowing (very non-technical) users to edit Excel data in a format that doesn't look like a spreadsheet. A User Form the same size as the Excel screen might work, but only if User Forms can pick up data from the source worksheet, allow users to edit that data, and save it back to the source worksheet. Is that possible? And how would I do that? (I am NOT a programmer, just a tech writer being pressed into service!)

Thank you!!

Excel Facts

Create a chart in one keystroke
Select the data and press Alt+F1 to insert a default chart. You can change the default chart to any chart type
This is a very simple example, but if you create a UserForm with a TextBox and a CommandButton, then put this code behind it:<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:eek:ffice" /><o:p></o:p>
Rich (BB code):
<o:p></o:p>
Rich (BB code):
Rich (BB code):
Private Sub CommandButton1_Click()<o:p></o:p>
Range("A1") = TextBox1.Value<o:p></o:p>
End Sub<o:p></o:p>
<o:p> </o:p>
Private Sub UserForm_Activate()<o:p></o:p>
TextBox1.Value = Range("A1")<o:p></o:p>
End Sub

When the UserForm is opened, the TextBox will take on the value of cell A1 on the active sheet. When the CommandButton is pressed, it will send the current contents of the TextBox back to cell A1.
However, what you are doing sounds like quite a big task, so you are going to need to become very much more familiar with the basic VBA concepts to achieve this properly I would think.

Upvote 0
Hey, that looks promising!

Is it possible to repeat that code so that multiple fields can appear in the same textbox? Oh... just looked again, no -- parsing it back out would be craziness (if not impossible).

So I need multiple textboxes, with this code in each (but edited to say Range("B1")=TextBox2.value, etc.)

I'll try it out and post a "Solved" message if it works.

Thanks very much,