I would like to introduce myself..........

mark9988

Board Regular
Hello everyone,

My name is Mark and I just finished college a couple of months ago. I came across this site during work one day at my new job and I can't get over how knowledgeable all of you are with Excel.

So I'm a financial analyst for a very large financial firm in NYC. As of right I feel as if I should of became a pharmacist or something because I spend about 8-10 hours a day on Excel when I could be spending only 4 hours a day if I knew how to.

I just feel that If I were more experienced in Excel, my job would be much more enjoyable. I can't believe how much there is to learn in Excel and how powerful it can be. So my question.............How long did it take all of you to become a "pro" in Excel? How did all of you do it? Did you read books or do all of you work for Microsoft? I would love to become a "pro" in Excel, but I just don't know where to start.

Thanks for the great site and keep up the great work!!

Mark

Excel Facts

Copy a format multiple times
Select a formatted range. Double-click the Format Painter (left side of Home tab). You can paste formatting multiple times. Esc to stop
Hi Mark, and welcome to the Board.

As my number of posts indicates, I'm hardly a pro, but...

You will have noticed that Excel is capable of achieving a lot of outcomes, it's a matter of learning how to get to where you want to be. The Excel help files are very useful, as is the formula paste function. I would suggest you look at what you're doing, imagine a way of improving it, then use those tools.

Searching this and other forums will also often throw up some incredible solutions. Then if you still can't find what you want, post a question here, stating clearly what you are trying to achieve, what you've done so far, and what is holding you back.

Personally, I haven't read a book on Excel since Excel version 2 (circa 1988).

Good luck!

Richard

mark9988 said: