help!!!!!

mswantek

Board Regular
First, I have gotten much great advise from the excel portion of this site, Now I am progressing to Access. My problem is this:

I have created a VBA driven form that workflows to different people to collect data. Up until now I have stored all the info into a different excel form to be used as my database. This "database" is opened, written to , and closed within the vba code without the user knowing it. I should mention too that the files are being used over a network at work. The problem I am facing now is that the "database"(excel ) is on a drive that the user needs to have acess to in order to write to it within the vba code. Is there a way that MS Access could be used to overcome this? I am new to Access and want to know if it is worth persuing.

Excel Facts

Enter current date or time
Ctrl+: enters current time. Ctrl+; enters current date. Use Ctrl+: Ctrl+; Enter for current date & time.
If you're trying to set up a multiuser environment, Access is better than Excel -- better security, more control over data entry.
I'm not completely sure what you need to do, but you could convert the hidden "Database" to an Access table, and use forms within Access to set up the data entry. Access is also a great reporting tool when you get used to it.
Once you're happy that the forms work as required, you can split the database. Make sure that the backend goes onto a shared drive (nominate its location when prompted by the wizard) and then put a copy of the front end on the desktop or C: drive of every user. When they open the database they will all be writing to the backend. If you don't go over about 5 concurrent users, this should do everyhing you need.

Very high-level view, but I hope this helps.

Upvote 0
Syd,

Thank you so much!! I never could figure out how the whole package worked. My issue though is (and I am making an assumption here) that every user you refer to would have to have