Excel 2003 & 2007 Questions

pbt

Don't know if this is the right place for this thread - so if it get's moved that's fine.

My company has decided to install Office 2007 on a new computer that I will get. I will be the test dummy of Office 2007.

I have asked our IT guy if you could install 2007 and still leave 2003 on this new computer. He says it is too much trouble.

I have read many post from some of the MVP's here that have 97 on up on their computer.

I have no knowledge of what it takes to install different versions. I was thinking that Partioning of the hard drive was how it was done.

My worries is that if he leaves me with only 2007, that maybe some of the macros in the sheets that I, and the whole company work on will not work properly. Or if I open it in 2007, it will open in 2007 every time. In others words I would be left without the ability to "test" in 2007.

With what I do, it is essential that if I open a file, (during realcompany work) that it works, macros included. I will not have the option or time to wait for my IT guy "to find the time" to fix the problem.

We use a lot of Excel books that have macros (some very intense) that were written by a former employee using 2003.
And this is where I am getting my knowledge of VBA.

Needless to say, the IT guy is the brother-in-law of one of the bosses, so I have to come up with a way to convince the higher-ups that my worries are justified. (if this is the case)

I guess my questions are:

1. Is it really that hard to have two versions of Office (or in particular, Excel only, don't need the rest) installed on the same machine.
2. Would I (or will I might) encounter some problems with some of the VBA codes written in 2003

I think that I can handle the "brother-in-law" situation with the right words since I am the most senior employee in the company.

Any comments on this will be greatly appreciated,

Harry Shue
since it's already out
http://www.mrexcel.com/board2/viewtopic.php?t=252527&start=60