Can I have formula that uses a cell with numeric value and text string?

onelane

I have a spread sheet that i use for job costing and estimating. I work in the concrete construction industry so i deal a lot with cubit yards and square and linear feet.

I have a cell that calculates the cubic yardage of a 4" thick slab at "x" square feet which is in another cell. We buy the concrete material by the yard but we charge by the square footage.

I want to be able to have a cell that says say "1500 Sq Ft" and a cell that says "$4.00". From this i want to be able to use just the 1500 times the $4.00 to equal $6000 in another cell. but i get error messages because of the text string "Sq Ft" in the first cell.

Is there a way to use this without separating into 2 cells, perhaps a way to take just the numeric part of the cell to be used in the formula?

Thanks
Aric

Excel Facts

Bring active cell back into view
Start at A1 and select to A9999 while writing a formula, you can't see A1 anymore. Press Ctrl+Backspace to bring active cell into view.
Hello Aric

Instead of having 1500 Sq Ft as the cell value you could use a custom format in that cell

Format > Cells > number > custom and type this in the box

0" Sq Ft"

Now if you type in 1500 the cell will display as 1500 Sq Ft but the cell value will be numeric......so your calculations will work

Upvote 0
OK, let's say you have "1500 sq. ft." in cell A1.
And in cell B1 you have "4" formatted as currency so it displays as "$4.00"

In cell C1 you could put the following formula and format the cell as currency so that it displays "$6,000.00"

=LEFT(A1,LEN(A1)-8)*B1

The -8 is to get rid of " sq. ft."

Upvote 0
Thank you all. I will try a couple of those options and see what works best. Greatly appreciate the help.

Upvote 0
Hello Aric

Instead of having 1500 Sq Ft as the cell value you could use a custom format in that cell

Format > Cells > number > custom and type this in the box

0" Sq Ft"