calculating distance between coordinates

Status
Not open for further replies.

TTBoy

i use a Trimble Total Station Survey equipment, This is used for suveying and measuring distances between points on jobs. These points can be exported onto the pc as a text file and imported onto excel, the file has a northing and easting to locate the point these are comma separated.

I would like to know if excell is capable of working out a distance betwen two of these such points by using the two pairs of northing and easting coordinates. The maximum distance between two points is no more than 50 meters. If for example when imported onto excel point 1's coordinates are locted in cells A1 and B1 and points 2's coordinates are locted in cells A2 and B2.

Any help or advice would be appreciated Thanks. I am very new to excel

Excel Facts

Why does 9 mean SUM in SUBTOTAL?
It is because Sum is the 9th alphabetically in Average, Count, CountA, Max, Min, Product, StDev.S, StDev.P, Sum, VAR.S, VAR.P.
yeah, excel can do it. it's just algebra. think back, there's a point-distance formula. it's just pythagorean's theorem, really.

(x2-x1)^2 + (y2-y1)^2 = distance^2

SO!
if your coordinates are in column A and B,
=sqrt((a2-a1)^2+(b2-b1)^2)
would yield the distance.

Upvote 0
Thanks I didn't think of it like that, I don't have a northing/easting coordinate text file a home but I am going to try that at work tommorrow and report back. Just a quick question what unit of distance will the answer be in (metres or millimeters)??

Last edited:
Upvote 0
coordinates are in degrees minutes and seconds so this could be a problem yes?? I will have to have a look tommorrow if the trimble can export the text file with distances instead. Thanks

Last edited:
Upvote 0
the formula i provided will calculate distance in the same units the inputs are in.

as northing and easting are generally recorded in meters, your data will probably yield distances in meters.