Xcel to Access

alcorjr

Hi guys, although I'm quite adept at Excel, I'm just starting to learn Access & VB6.
As an exercise I want to convert the data I have in a spreadsheet into Access Xp. This sheet contains personal data on employees, as well as their two-week salaries for a 3-year period.
As I'm doing this, I realize that the field names are strings. In the case of the salaries, the field name would be the starting and ending date of each period in question.
In Excel I had this info in two separate cells (The first two of the column), so I could use the dates as pointers for subsequent calculations.
How can achieve this in Access, so when I try to write code in VB it will recognize the field names as two dates?
:oops: Thanks

Excel Facts

Which Excel functions can ignore hidden rows?
The SUBTOTAL and AGGREGATE functions ignore hidden rows. AGGREGATE can also exclude error cells and more.
I don't know if I fully understand what you are doing or trying to do but...

In Access, you might create a form with a bunch of fields on it. In your case, you may have [date1] and [date2]. [date2] might have an event that sets it equal to ([date1] + 14) thus making it two weeks past [week1]

This is all up to you and how you want to use it on a day-to-day basis... or week-to-week basis. Anyways - when you create a field called [date1] for example and its in a "Form" called [EmployeeSal].

You can refer to this field from anywhere in the database by saying
[Forms]![EmployeeSal].[week1]

If your using/writing a macro, you may have to first open the form in question before refering to the field in this way.

I am still learning myself so I am sure there are many ways to refer to a field.

Upvote 0
Just as a how to get started - What I'd do is go ahead and import the data as-is. Make sure you don't lose anything and force fields like your from/to date field to import as text.

Once you get it into Access, that's where the manipulation begins.