Word date from mail merge displayed as number - can anyone help ?

nottinghamdave

Hi,

I have created a mail merge from Excel 2003 to Word 2003 and my dates are always displayed wrongly.

I have added a date using the following format :-
<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:eek:ffice" /><o:p>{ DATE \* MERGEFORMAT } and the date displays 15/05/2009

I have added a date on the same document using the following format </o:p>
<o:p>{ MERGEFIELD "Order_Dt" \@ "ddd MMMM yyyy" } and the date displays 39947.539468

I have been trying everything to get Order_Dt that is merged from Excel to display the correct format and have gone bald pulling my hair out.

I am not technical so will not understand going into programming or complex methods. Is there a simple way to fix this because I can't find the answer anywhere on the web or on any forum anywhere.</o:p>
<o:p></o:p>
<o:p>Thanks</o:p>
<o:p>Dave</o:p>

Excel Facts

Wildcard in VLOOKUP
Use =VLOOKUP("Apple*" to find apple, Apple, or applesauce
Just a quick bump.

Just to add, when I choose the below on Word 2003 :-
Tools > Letters and Mailings > Mail Merge

Then choose "Edit Recipient List" on Step 3 of 6, all the dates are displayed numerically eg 39947.539468 for instance, which is the numerical equivalent of 14/05/2009 (1/1/1900 + 39947.539468 days). I just can't figure it out.

Dave

Upvote 0
it may by a computer issue
search for date format in help
you may have to change a control panel setting

Upvote 0
>> wsjackman
Many thanks for your reply. You gave me confidence that I wasn't doing it wrong and going crazy.

I have checked all the settings on Windows and I don't think that is the problem.