Why does this work????

Mr Walker

Board Regular
I had trouble getting my hlookup to work, and whilst trying a few things, I wrote this. I'm glad it works, but I always like to know why, and I just can't think this through in my head.

It's the If Error line. Can someone explain what it's doing? I know it's probably simple, but I'm still fairly new to the whole VB thing. Great fun though!!!

BTW, ReceiptsCol and LookupRange are dimmed early on in my sub.

Code:
On Error Resume Next
If Error = Sheet21.Cells(r, 1) = WorksheetFunction.HLookup(Sheet21.Cells(r, 1), LookupRange, 1, False) Then
On Error GoTo 0

Sheet3.Columns(ReceiptsCol).EntireColumn.Insert
End If

Excel Facts

Show numbers in thousands?
Use a custom number format of #,##0,K. Each comma after the final 0 will divide the displayed number by another thousand
How have you dimensioned the Error variable? In your code it is Boolean, True if:

Sheet21.Cells(r, 1) = WorksheetFunction.HLookup(Sheet21.Cells(r, 1), LookupRange, 1, False)

(ie it's in the LookupRange) False if not.

Is that what you intended?

Upvote 0
I thought that's why it works originally. That's why I'm a bit confused. I type Option Explicit in my Declarations as a matter of course, and Error isn't dim'd at all.

Also, my code inserts a column when the data is NOT in the Lookup Range, ie when the error is true. Is this something

Don't get me wrong, I'm not unhappy that it works, but I'd love to know why.

I'm thinking that the lookup, when it works, returns a TRUE value , (as Sheet21.Cells(r, 1) does equal WorksheetFunction.HLookup(Sheet21.Cells(r, 1), LookupRange, 1, False)), which is an invalid error number, so it goes straight to End If, and when the lookup fails it returns a valid error number (1004), so it executes the "Insert Column" procedure.

Upvote 0
Hmm. I did a bit of testing, and it returns a value of nothing (Empty) if the lookup fails, and a value of True if the lookup is successful.