What's The Best Way To Setup A Spreadsheet

WorkMC

Board Regular
My boss at work seems to think I'm an expert with excel. I've said that I have limited knowledge and even so, he has asked me to setup a spreadsheet, to record data and manipulate the results, which will be easy to use by other people.

I'm willing to give this a go but thought I'd seek advise on the best route to take from the REAL experts at MrExcel. No doubt I will be asking further questions once I start the work.

Unfortunately I'm not allowed to use Access so this will not be an option even though I know it probably be better suited.

The workbook will have about 20 pages with the main sheet containing almost 65000 rows of data. Some of the other pages will be used to produce reports and tempory archieve bits of old data.

Now the questions:-

1. In the past for the start page (menu) I've used command buttons on a worksheet but have toyed with the idea of a Userform that is displayed at startup. Is there any difference between the two or can a Userform cause problems later on.

2. Data entry will be made by another Userform which I'm happy at setting up. The only problem is that various calcualtions need to run once data is entered. Is it best to run these as data is entered or at the end when all of the data has been recorded? The reason for getting this part is so that I don't slow the overall opertion of the spreadsheet down.

3. When using a Userform does the associated worksheet with the form have to be visable? It's just that in the past I've always hidden the background worksheets and only made them visable when a particular userform has been selected.

4. Occasionaly I use Application.Screenupdating in my macro's. If I use a command button to do a few things which includes this and also call another macro, do I need Application.ScreenUpdating in the macro that is being called?

5. Is it best to use a combo or list box on a userform?