What is access

L

Legacy 287389

Hi good people!,

Just a general question. I am VERY new to Access but don't want to waste my time learning it if it is not going to meet with what I am after, which is, complex calculations as we can do in Excel. As far as I have learned Access is basically a reporting portal, pulling info from a database (Table), and displaying it. There are some calculations that can be done, but they are basically limited to adding, subtraction, multiplication and division. Uhm, please, I just want to know if I can create, and use formulas and macros to AT LEAST the same extend as we can use them in Excel?. Conditional formatting?..is this an Access feature?. Any info will be greatly appreciated!...thanx guys!

Excel Facts

Is there a shortcut key for strikethrough?
Ctrl+S is used for Save. Ctrl+5 is used for Strikethrough. Why Ctrl+5? When you use hashmarks to count |||| is 4, strike through to mean 5.
Hi good people!,

Just a general question. I am VERY new to Access but don't want to waste my time learning it if it is not going to meet with what I am after, which is, complex calculations as we can do in Excel. As far as I have learned Access is basically a reporting portal, pulling info from a database (Table), and displaying it. There are some calculations that can be done, but they are basically limited to adding, subtraction, multiplication and division. Uhm, please, I just want to know if I can create, and use formulas and macros to AT LEAST the same extend as we can use them in Excel?. Conditional formatting?..is this an Access feature?. Any info will be greatly appreciated!...thanx guys!

Let me google that for you

In all honesty though, don't think of it as Excel or Access, think of it as Excel and Access.

You can use a butter knife as a screwdriver, but would you?

Last edited:
Upvote 0
As far as I have learned Access is basically a reporting portal