Viewing set information in MSAccess2000

jac_pol

Hello all, I'm a complete novice as a database developer and I'm seeking some guidance. I work for a Rail Freight Company in Australia and I'm setting up a database to assist in yard operations. Here's the scenario. We have scheduled services which arrive on a given day at a given time each week. What I need to do is set up a form which will display all the daily scheduled trains and their arrival/departure times (usually 8 trains per day) at which point the users will enter additional data such as actual arrival, if it was early/late and why etc. I have a table with scheduled arrival/departure times, a table each for arrivals and departures. I set up queries to display each days schedule but when I combine the query with the arrivals table in a form the sheduled trains disappear. I don't know where to go. My boss wants to implement this DB pretty soon and he's got me under the pump a bit. I'd be greatful for any help. :pray:

Excel Facts

Ambidextrous Undo
Undo last command with Ctrl+Z or Alt+Backspace. If you use the Undo icon in the QAT, open the drop-down arrow to undo up to 100 steps.
Hi, sounds like you might need to change the data structure around a bit. Access likes things ordered a particular way. If you are interested in Movements (in or out), that's what you need for your data table. So... this could be an example o fthe fields you need.
Movement ID (key field, Autonumber)
Movement Date (Date/Time)
Train ID (number, use the Lookup wizard to look up the Train ID field in Trains table)
Due In (Date/Time)
Due Out (Date/Time)
Actual In (Date/Time)
Actual Out (Date/Time)

The Trains table will have:
Train ID (key field, Autonumber)
Train Name (Text)
and other fields for Destination, Freight Type, and whatever else you need