Very simple question

joh1135

Board Regular
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
I am very new to Acess - and I think I have a very simple project to accomplish quickly.

I have created a three tables -

1) EMPLOYEE (Name, Grade, Work Location, and Shift) for all employees.

2) OT1 (Name, OTHours, Explaination) employee + hours worked during pay period 1

3) OT2 (Name, OThours, Explaination) employee + hours worked during pay period 2

I would like to show all employees who has worked OT by querying EMPLOYEE, OT1 and OT2) and showing the total OThours worked.

I plan to create an OT table for each pay period during the year (26) so that I can see who has worked OT when and how much.

Thank you all in advance - appreciate all your previous help (in Excel) - it is a wonderful service that you provide for the rest of us.

Dave Johnson

Just trying to get to the end gracefully.....

:rolleyes:

Excel Facts

What did Pito Salas invent?
Pito Salas, working for Lotus, popularized what would become to be pivot tables. It was released as Lotus Improv in 1989.
Dave

Why do you want to create 26 different tables that essentially will contain the same sort of data?

Whynot just have one table with a field that indicates rge pay period?

This would greatly simplify any queries or reports.

Also you should add a primary key in the Employee table.

This could be an Autonumber.

So your table layout would be something like this:

1) EMPLOYEE (EmployeeID, Name, Grade, Work Location, and Shift) for all employees.

2) OT (EmployeeID, OTHours, Explaination, PayPeriod) employee + hours worked during pay period 1

Upvote 0
Norie,

Thanks for the very quick response.

The reason I layed it out the way I did is that I get a sheet of paper for the current payperiod with the employees name and the amount of OT that individual worked.