VBA Pop Up Message Using Moving Cell Values

h3artablaze

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi,
Just to preface, I'm very new to VBA so not sure if starting in the right place here. I'm trying to get a VBA error message to pop up depending on value in cell F5. If F5 = Q5 I'd like "Take Profit Level has been reached" to appear, whereas if F5=R5 I'd like "Stop/Loss Level has been reached" to appear. F5 is a changing value dependent on a function.

Private Sub Calculate(ByVal Target As Range)
If Target.Address = "$F$5" Then
If Target.Value = "$Q$5" Then MsgBox "Take Profit Level has been reached"
If Target.Value = "$R$5" Then MsgBox "Stop/Loss Level has been reached"
End If
End Sub

I went with the above after some light research but clearly is wrong...

Many thanks in advance

Excel Facts

Format cells as currency
Select range and press Ctrl+Shift+4 to format cells as currency. (Shift 4 is the $ sign).
Hi,
Just to preface, I'm very new to VBA so not sure if starting in the right place here. I'm trying to get a VBA error message to pop up depending on value in cell F5. If F5 = Q5 I'd like "Take Profit Level has been reached" to appear, whereas if F5=R5 I'd like "Stop/Loss Level has been reached" to appear. F5 is a changing value dependent on a function.

If Target.Value = "$Q$5" Then MsgBox "Take Profit Level has been reached"
If Target.Value = "$R$5" Then MsgBox "Stop/Loss Level has been reached"
End If
End Sub

I went with the above after some light research but clearly is wrong...

Many thanks in advance
Give this a try:
VBA Code:
Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)
    If Target.Value = Range("Q5").Value Then MsgBox "Take Profit Level has been reached"
    If Target.Value = Range("R5").Value Then MsgBox "Stop/Loss Level has been reached"
End If
End Sub

Upvote 0
Welcome to the Board!

F5 is a changing value dependent on a function.
dreid1011,