VBA Code to extract data between dates.

Niveditha

Hi All,

This is the requirement I have and it would be really helpful if someone can help me here.

1) Sheet1 in excel has 13 columns. I need to extract columns B,J and L to sheet 2.
2) Column B can be copied directly. But, column J is sort of like a history update and the matter would look somewhat like this:
2/8- blah1 blah1 blah1 blah1 2/7-blah blah2 blah2 2/6- blah3 blah3

3)I would need only the latest date and the text that follows it to be copied to next sheet. I also need to append something like "ABC says:-" after the date.

ie., in my sheet 2, I would have column B as 2/8- ABC says:- blah1 blah1 blah1 blah1

I'm a Beginner in macros and excel and any help would be greatly appreciated!!! :)

Excel Facts

What is the shortcut key for Format Selection?
Ctrl+1 (the number one) will open the Format dialog for whatever is selected.
when you say you need to extract column B,J and L to sheet 2, do they need to be in the same column, or in A,B and C?

Upvote 0
Thanks for responding dermie!

Its copied from B, J and L in sheet 1 to to A,B,C in sheet 2.

Should have made that clear earlier. My bad.

Upvote 0
the following code will copy the columns across.
Code:
Sub niveditha()
Sheets("Sheet2").Range("B:B,J:J,L:L").Copy Destination:=Sheets("Sheet1").Range("A1")
End Sub
what determines the dates that you will need to capture. Is the blah blah blah's you mentioned dates or text? Does the same apply for column C (the old column L)?

Upvote 0
Hi dermie,

Thank you for helping out :)

To provide a broader picture,

Sheet 1 --> Column K has a date field . I initially do a manual filter on this field and check only the latest date. So now I'm left with lesser number of rows.
Next I need to copy all data from columns B,J and L to sheet 2 ( columns A, B,C)
B and L in sheet 1 can be copied directly to A and C respectively in sheet 2.

Column J in sheet 1-->