VBA code for "Save As" dialog box and PDF File format

DAD

Board Regular
Hi Ladies and Gents,

I am very new at VBA coding in excel, so please excuse my lack of technical literacy.

I am trying to write a simple VBA script in my excel spreadsheet and link it to a button so when pressed, the "Save As" dialog box opens and the "Format" defaults to PDF. That is the main objective of the script. I am also interested to know if it is possible to insert words (from two cells in the spreadsheet) into the "File Name" section of the "Save As" dialog box?

The reason I don't want to run an export as PDF script as I have need in other threads in the forum, is that many colleagues will be running this spreadsheet, and they need the ability to save the files wherever they desire on their machine.

I hope my query is clear and contains enough info.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Excel Facts

Why are there 1,048,576 rows in Excel?
The Excel team increased the size of the grid in 2007. There are 2^20 rows and 2^14 columns for a total of 17 billion cells.
Try this. The PDF file name is constructed from cells B4 and B5 on the first sheet.
Code:
Public Sub Save_Workbook_As_PDF()

Dim i As Integer, PDFindex As Integer
    Dim PDFfileName As String

With ActiveWorkbook
        PDFfileName = .Worksheets(1).Range("B4").Value & .Worksheets(1).Range("B5").Value & ".pdf"
    End With

With Application.FileDialog(msoFileDialogSaveAs)

PDFindex = 0
        For i = 1 To .Filters.Count
            If InStr(VBA.UCase(.Filters(i).Description), "PDF") > 0 Then PDFindex = i
        Next

.Title = "Save workbook as PDF"
        .InitialFileName = PDFfileName
        .FilterIndex = PDFindex

If .Show Then
            ActiveWorkbook.ExportAsFixedFormat Type:=xlTypePDF, fileName:=.SelectedItems(1), _
                Quality:=xlQualityStandard, IncludeDocProperties:=True, IgnorePrintAreas:=False, OpenAfterPublish:=True
        End If

End With

End Sub

Upvote 0
Hi John,