Use same list for multiple field names

MichaelN86

I'm relatively new to MS Access (2013) and I'm trying to make a database that can be used to input data from transect surveys.

To lay out my design hopes: I have a form that has spaces for 50 observations (an observation made every 0.5 meters along a 25 meter transect). Each observation can only have one option and must be restricted to a list of only 15 choices. At the moment, I have a table design that has 50 field names (Obs1, Obs2....Obs50). I was going to just have the data type be a 'lookup' (of the available choices from another table 'tblBottomType' that can still be customizable if more options need to be added) but this seems very redundant since its creating 50 separate relationships. Any suggestions on how to simplify this?

Excel Facts

Control Word Wrap
Press Alt+Enter to move to a new row in a cell. Lets you control where the words wrap.
Looks like you are thinking of this with a spreadsheet bias. Your observations should be in rows, not columns. That's the concept of database design. It might be a good idea for you to research relational database design before you get too deep, but I will offer suggestions to get your thoughts on track (using your clues). My name choices might not be the best.