Trouble with Input Mask When Doing Search Queries

trusting

Hi,

I'm working on a database created by someone else so I'm not sure how it was originally created or various changes it may have been through.

My problem is an SSN field. It is masked for SSN (000-00-000) and it is set to store the data without the symbols.

However, when I try to run a query, I have to enter the dashes in order to get results. I've exported it to Excel and the dashes are there, so I believe the dashes have actually been stored in the database.

My goal is to have all queries and forms display the SSN with the dashes, but to be able to ENTER the SSN in a search query WITHOUT dashes.

I can run a query to remove the dashes, but I want to make sure that it will still display with dashes when displayed in a query result or when auto-filled in a form.

I'm not experienced with input masks and wondered if someone could let me know if this will work as hoped for, if I need to follow a specific procedure, or if there's a good tutorial (YouTube?) that would explain the process.

Thanks for any help!

Teresa

Excel Facts

How to calculate loan payments in Excel?
Use the PMT function: =PMT(5%/12,60,-25000) is for a $25,000 loan, 5% annual interest, 60 month loan.
have a look at the phone or date input masks, I think it would look like ###-###-### for three number groups

Upvote 0
As suggested, you can use an input mask for the query, but not if you are using a parameter query. You'd have to use a form textbox to provide the criteria. Input mask is a data option on the textbox property sheet for dates or text only. You will find the SSN mask there. Sounds like your table field is text but a format has been applied to the table field to hide the dashes.

Upvote 0
Thank you for the replies.