Total newbie to Access

Xro

Hi all
im a total newbie to Access, usually use Excel, but know my boss wonts a Database and i havnt got a clue , So if someone could help me id be more than happy, the problem is this.
We have a weekly production plan up till now this was a excel file now it has to be a datenbank its built up like this, Produktion week, Day (Mon - Sun), Shift (Earlys, Lates, Nights), Band (1-10) and personal per Band.
I realise this might be a big project, (my Excel workbook took3 mth), but if someone could point me in the right direction, especially with the querys i could try and fight my way through the rest. Thanks in advance

Excel Facts

Excel Wisdom
Using a mouse in Excel is the work equivalent of wearing a lanyard when you first get to college
First try File>Get External data and import your Excel workbook.

This is assuming that you have column headings. Produktion etc and that each row in the workbook is one record.

Upvote 0
well that just imports the whole worksheet, which does not really help me.
the only data that stays the same is the weekday, band nr and the shift.
the artikle to be produced changes at least every week somtimes 3 to 4 times a week

Upvote 0
Xro said:
well that just imports the whole worksheet, which does not really help me.
the only data that stays the same is the weekday, band nr and the shift.
the artikle to be produced changes at least every week somtimes 3 to 4 times a week
I would first go to Creat New Table Wizard - and setup your table first (in Design View). All you have to do is just as in Excel, create a column and then choose it's format.

i.e. you would create a column for "Shift". Choose "text" as the data type. Then make it a drop-down list w/ the option of Early, Late or Night and set it as a required field. This now creates a column called Shift and one of the above mentioned selections must be chosen.

see where I am going with this? The first step is to set up your table in Access just as in Excel.