The Psychiatrists Chair

gingerafro

I need some help. I've been using Excel now for about 7 years. Not as long as many, but it is over a quarter of my life. I feel that I've become reasonably accomplished in formulas, pivot tables and programming.

The reason for this is that I used to do all of my firm's statsistics in excel. Over the last year I've discovered Access and now become proficient using that.

Great for the company and my time, but I feel like I'm neglecting Excel. We still have a casual thing going, but I need to make my relationship more fulfilling. I am concerned that soon we may suffer from irreconcilable differences. What can I do?

Excel Facts

What is the shortcut key for Format Selection?
Ctrl+1 (the number one) will open the Format dialog for whatever is selected.
Have you discussed this with Excel? How do they feel about it? How do you feel discussing this very personal problem on an international forum?

Having seen the light of Access you won't regret turning away from your old faithful. Think of Excel as a comfort blanket. Something very handy and comforting in your youth and something you think you simply can't do without (if you are that way inclined), but as you have progressed in your knowledge of all things Microsoft, you need to face the truth. Repeat after me : "I have outgrown Excel". This is normal and you are not responsible for Excel's feelings. In any case Excel has moved on and has another poor soul in its' clutches.

I recommend a multi-table crosstab query to relieve you of your fascination and unrequited infatuation with Excel. How does that make you feel?

:lol:

Excel has been really good about it all. Despite the odd strop when I try to adjust a big pivot table, its always around when I need it.