Take screenshots & simultaneously capture the link, place it into an Excel file which is linked to a FileMaker/Claris db.

afalexander

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi, I'm self-taught and I'm sure I'm missing something obvious even after extensive research. Please bear with me for this complicated help request!

For data compilation in Excel (desktop), I need to:
  • Capture screen shots (images are critical) & simultaneously capture the source url.
There are thousands of images to be gathered, so file size becomes an instant issue. I have external cloud storage (dropbox & onenote), and plan on storing the images there, but I need a quick way to the above in one step. I have MS Access and FileMaker/Claris, but I need to keep this in a spreadsheet because I need to share with others who do not use databases, databases aren't easily shared, and I don't have time to explain how to view things in any other software. I DO, however, plan on linking the spreadsheet to a my FileMaker/Claris db. I'm a sole enterprise, so I don't have to worry about interoperability with an IT department; I'm building this db on my own. And, I'm a sole enterprise, so I don't have the benefit of an IT department doing all of the heavy lifting. I'm familiar enough with databases that I can do basic coding, but each time I do, I have to research and copy other code, and modify it to what I need. In other words, I have to reinvent the wheel each time I need to do something new, script-wise, and I don't even know if the ability exists, script-wise or not.​
  • Share this desktop version with others (cloud based versions do not keep the true format and functionality). The file size gets very large with images, and I need to be able to email the spreadsheet. Many viewers and contributors are of varying abilities and software users. I need the equivalent of sharing my screen, but with them having the ability to pinpoint EXACTLY what we're both viewing.