Synchronized Combo Boxes/Microsoft Example

L

Legacy 3234

This is my first attempt at doing pretty much anything in Access. I'm trying to create a form with synchronized combo boxes. I'm trying to do the same thing as in Microsoft Knowledge Base Article - 209576. My form isn't working so I'm going back over the example in the Northwind database that Microsoft provides and there's something I just don't get.

It says to create the query qryProductsList based on the Products table and to include the ProductID, ProductName and CategoryID fields. When I use the simple query Wizard to do that, CategoryID is listed as one of the fields I can choose from. But, if I open the Products table, CategoryID is not a field in the table. Category is, but CategoryID is not. How does CategoryID show up in the fields I can select from when that field doesn't exist in that table???

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;209576

Excel Facts

Links? Where??
If Excel says you have links but you can't find them, go to Formulas, Name Manager. Look for old links to dead workbooks & delete.
If you'll notice, Categories and Products are two different tables. You'll need to base your query off of both tables. The tables will need to be Joined together on a common field, but I believe that the query will do this for you.

Upvote 0
Thank you. I opened up a clean copy of the Northwind database on someone else's computer and the Products and Categories tables are already joined on CategoryID before I even do the synchronized combo boxes. I don't understand how two tables can be joined on a field that doesn't appear in both tables. CategoryID appears in the Products table when I look at the relationships but it doesn't appear if I open the Products table.

You say you think the query would do the join for me but when I try to duplicate what the sample does in my own database, it doesn't work.

I have two tables. tblDivision and tblLine.