Sum Product

Viking08

Board Regular
I am new to Access so be gentle. I do most of my work in excel, but I have come to am impass. I need to import a file that is larger than 100,000 lines.

I am importing a loan file that is over 100,000 loans in total and has different loans types. What I need to be able to do, which I coould in excel, is to add up the different catagories and calcualte the weighted average rate per catagory.

Can someone help me. Again I am a real novice when it comes to access. :eek:

Thanks

Excel Facts

Waterfall charts in Excel?
Office 365 customers have access to Waterfall charts since late 2016. They were added to Excel 2019.
Access will have no problems with the filesize you describe. It can also do the calculation you need. Check the help files for a GroupBy query.

Basically, what you want to do is start a query, bring in your main table, and turn on the grouping. Then, you can bring the fields that you need in, and apply different groupings (click on the drop down arrow to see different options.)

That should get you started. Post back if you are having problems.

HTH (y)
P

Upvote 0
There are several ways to go. For one, you can put "Average" in the "Total" row in the Access query design. In query design you can specify menu item "view totals" to toggle that row appearing. Then you can set a query criteria and get the averages, one by one.

You'll probably prefer to use an Access report. If you set up a query that does nothing but output category and rate, you can start a new report, invoking the report wizard, specifying that query as the source; then set the category as a grouping level; then clicking the wizard button "Summary options" and clicking the Sum and Avg buttons - which will produce a report that shows the sum and average after each category.