Subtracting minutes from a set value

Kellbell

Hello and thanks in advance from you time helping with this problem.:)

I am using Excel 2007 on a PC and wish to do the following, have excel return a value for the time my son plays as a hockey goalie based on the time the clock show when he is switched with his goalie partner. For example commonly, he plays the first period and 10 minutes of the second period, which should produce a product of 30 minutes. The problem is at his level, Atom, they play a 15 minute 1st and 15 minute second, with a 20 minute third. I have spent the past 90 minutes trying and reading posts, and trying, and reading etc. This is what I started with.

A B
Period 1
Time pulled 12:05:00 AM
Time played =IF(OR(B1=1,B1=2),12:15:00 AM-B2,12:20:00 AM-B2)

I get an error in the formula that I can't solve. It doesn't like the time format. I have tried many different versions of the formatting with no success. I am a novice user of excel and enjoy the challenge of solving these problems on my own, but I can't seem to figure this one out.

I'm being careful to enter the 'time pulled' data as 0:05:00 but i guess I'm missing something. Further I did see an example in these forums regarding using a VBE, which looks interesting, in order to not need to enter the colon every time. But I would first like to get this formula working and then work on tweaking it.

Any help is most appericated.

Thanks,
Kelly

Excel Facts

Add Bullets to Range
Select range. Press Ctrl+1. On Number tab, choose Custom. Type Alt+7 then space then @ sign (using 7 on numeric keypad)
Welcome to the board...

Perhaps

=IF(OR(B1=1,B1=2),"12:15:00 AM"-B2,"12:20:00"-B2)

Upvote 0
Jonmo1,
Thanks very much, that was all it was; the "" needed to contain the time value. You rock thanks!!

As a 'next step'. do you have an easy way to be able to enter the following string

or

and have it be read by excel as 00:05:27