SQL vs Access for BackEnd

Nimrod

MrExcel MVP
Hello Access Experts ! :)

I do a fair amount of coding in excel. However I'm fairly new with Access and even less so with SQL.

I'm interested in doing a project in which I would like to use excel as my front end and either Access or SQL as my Back End . And I'm just wondering how robust Access will be for me. I'm going to want up to 12 users accessing the DB thru excel at any one time. Am I going to have locking issues with Access ?

Thx for your time :D :D

Excel Facts

Why does 9 mean SUM in SUBTOTAL?
It is because Sum is the 9th alphabetically in Average, Count, CountA, Max, Min, Product, StDev.S, StDev.P, Sum, VAR.S, VAR.P.
Hi Nimrod,

Not an Access expert but, SQL isn't really a back-end. SQL is standard query language and is an attempt at a universal language to manipulate relational data. Access will evaluate an SQL expression to generate , delete, append, update or join recordsets with criteria like any other database application. MySQL, Oracle, an AS400 are all back-ends, as well as front-ends.
Access deals well with medium-sized data sets, Oracle is better though. MySQL is free, you can download it, but it has some limitations, though I don't know what they are specifically because I don't use it.
Why would you use Excel as a front end? You can embed a spreadsheet in a form, that would keep your all your objects in Access, which eliminates a lot if things that could go wrong. Even that seems uneccesary.
Could you make a form in Access that would accomadate the front-end processes necessary, instead of a spreadsheet? Access will let you view a datasheet in a form, and you could have that datasheet be of an expression query if its necessary to have calculations, and you can put textboxes underneath the datasheet on the form to do aggregate functions like sum on the fields in the datasheet.
I don't think you will have problems in Access with 12 users.

HTH,

Upvote 0