sql syntax and/or function reference?

spleve

Board Regular
I've started using access recently as a favor for a friend's to help his small business. I've been coding vba in excel and sql in SQL Server for several years, so I thought I wouldn't have many problems with Access. That's been true with the vba, but NOT the SQL, and I can't find a real access-specific reference anywhere (well, ok, anywhere on the net for free!).

My latest specific issue is that I have a text field that holds dates of many different formats; some as mmm-dd-yy hh:mm:ss, some just yyyy mm, others dd/mm/yy etc, etc, etc. There's probably 7 or 8 different formats. An easy task for me in excel or SQL Server using isdate and cast other format similar functions in either tool, but for the life of me I can't seem to find a list of functions that I can use in the access sql, and either my "guesses" at the syntax are wrong or the functions are not available. I noticed a post on this board which used a "CVDate" function in the SQL, and thought I could use it to find the secret stash of functions in help, but I couldn't find any reference to that function either.

I'll probably export to excel, fix the dates and then export back, but I really hate that solution, and I know without a reference, EVERYTHING I try to do is going to be much more of a chore that it should be.

So my question is where can I find a function reference for access-sql?
How about and access-specific sql syntax reference?

Thanks!

Excel Facts

Links? Where??
If Excel says you have links but you can't find them, go to Formulas, Name Manager. Look for old links to dead workbooks & delete.
Hi,

Welcome to the world of Access :)

Re your specific problem, Access doesn't support CAST as such. It actually provides a whole host of conversion functions such as CDate, CStr, CInt and so on which you can use to convert data.