Required Yes/No Selection: How?

Elysyn

Hello! I have a question that seems to me rather elementary, however I am very new to Access. I've tried several combinations of the question in the help file within Access and haven't gotten an answer that works. At any rate, here is the problem:

I am creating a form for a logging database, and I have three selections that I absolutely need to have answered every time a log is entered. I don't want it to default to either yes or no, because that would bypass the requirement. I guess my question in a nutshell is, Can you split a checkbox/option button into two selections, one for yes and one for no?

Please let me know if my question is unclear in anyway. I thank you all in advance for your time!

Excel Facts

Get help while writing formula
Click the italics "fx" icon to the left of the formula bar to open the Functions Arguments dialog. Help is displayed for each argument.
Hi Elysyn

You could add a couple of option buttons, one for Yes and one for No, or a checkBox to add a tick into, but then you will need some code to interperate that choice and add the data into a table.

Why don't you just create your own dropdown list with Yes and No. Display Control must be set to ComboBox and then adding a Value List to the "Row Source Type" and "Yes", "No" to the Row Source of the Lookup tab in the table design view.

Then when you open your form in datasheet view, when you select the field when adding a new record , you will have a blank space and you can choose "Yes" or "No". This way you have no option selected until you explicitly choose the option you want.

If you have a Form, the same will apply.

Create your form by Right_Clicking the table and Saveas a Form. Then right click the control on the form that refers here and Change_To a combo box. Then add the above to the Row source Type and the Row source in the properties.

Try that

anvil19
:eek:

Upvote 0