request a new forum

john doe the 3rd

hi guyz @ mr excel,
this board has been really helpfull i have managed to solve 3 of 4 problems within a few days of each other , but most of my time is spent sifting through hundreds ,even thousands of posts trying to find one that covers my problem, im a student and my excel problems are very likely to be much less complicated tha some prblems ive seen posted here! would it be possible to start a student forum, with far less complicated problem so that myself, and im sure a majority of other students could quickly find the solution to the main problems we would face?

just an idea.

thx :)

Just post a question.

We're all here to help regardless of the complexity of the question. :wink:

Smitty

john doe the 3rd said:
would it be possible to start a student forum, with far less complicated problem so that myself, and im sure a majority of other students could quickly find the solution to the main problems we would face?
Three points (in my opinion) about why your idea wouldn't work:

(1)
The questions on this and other boards run the gamut, from easy to complicated, not depending on whether someone is a student but depending on the person's level of Excel expertise and problem they are facing.

(2)
The level of a person's expertise is very often misunderstood by that person. Many people think they are at an advanced or expert level because they know more about Excel than anyone else in their workplace, but when they get onto a world-wide forum where the knowledge bar is set much higher, they find out how relatively little they know. Other people who take for granted that what they know is also known by most other people can be wrong too...meaning, some people are more advanced than they give themselves credit for.

(3)
Take note of Search tips to narrow your search. Operators such as "and", "or", "not" "like" etc. are useful tools.
See search tip guidelines from Google
http://www.google.com/help/refinesearch.html