Related to Startup Menu question

Royal Presence

Board Regular
I would like to know if it's possible if I can put into a MS Access db for the main menu page, not switchboard a

menu such as the one in http://www.ashlandmass.com/

When I was doing this website, I used Selteco Menu Maker which made it very easy to institute. The format is very user friendly and I would like to know if it can be incorporated into an Access db as part of the main startup menu. Obviously I am no coder, but can implement basic changes, etc.

Currently, the start up has hyperlinks and/or command buttons (not sure which way to go), but would like a simple five category rollover drop down like in this website. Any ideas?

Thank you very much

Paula

Excel Facts

Using Function Arguments with nested formulas
If writing INDEX in Func. Arguments, type MATCH(. Use the mouse to click inside MATCH in the formula bar. Dialog switches to MATCH.
I think you should peek at some of the built-in VBA help on Startup.
When you go into Tools-Startup - the pull-down menu allows you to select any form (or [Data Access] Page) available within the database.

A lot of people buid custom switchboards instead of the default one to gain additional capabilities - for example, hiding inactive form windows as you navigate.

Yes, it should be possible to use an external form, but the level of complexity goes up. You'd essentially be writing a VB (or other programming language) application that opens up a connection to the Access database to work with it.

My opinion is, depending on programming skills, you're probably better of sticking inside Access AND rebuilding whatever you already have as an Access Form. I would only use an external program if the program needed other capabilities, such as complete standalone application that doesn't require a Full Access OR Access Runtime installation.

Mike

Upvote 0
Hi and thanks.