Refreshing a Query

BLONDIE2

I'm a newbie, so please help... :oops:

I have a very simple Access 2000 project with which I need help. I have a REPORT that runs a query that populates labels to print.

Is there a way to run the query again (that is, to refresh with different data) without having to go back to design view and return to preview?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Excel Facts

Excel motto
Not everything I do at work revolves around Excel. Only the fun parts.
If you are asking what I think then the answer is a conditional no :)

are you saying that you have a report open in preview and then change something in the underlying data, you then want to refresh the view to see this ammended data.

You could probably achive this by creating a custom toolbar with a button that would close and reopen the report for you.
probably a hammer to crack a nut though.

Why do you need to do it?

Peter

Upvote 0
Yes, I have a report open in preview. After I print it, I want to re-run the query which will import a new set of data to print.

NONE of this data is to be saved--only inserted in the report in order to print. (somewhat like a page of mailing labels for a single addressee, which is pulled--via query--by entering a unique ID number)

I know how to do this inExcel, but Excel won't print a page of labels like access will. :unsure:

Any ideas? Thanks for your interest.

Upvote 0
just close it and open it again, once you have the confidence the system is working you should not need to preview it any way! just print change your criteria and print again.

peter

Upvote 0
That's what I don't know how to do---to change the criteria (Re-enter the ID Number) WITHOUT closing the whole thing down again.

Upvote 0
I dont think that you can, access even recalculates everthing again before it prints when you are in preview.
How are you entering the ID's anyway?

Peter

Upvote 0
There's a query that runs when the report is opened.