Referencing previous data in a query.

ShaunMBrown

Hello,

I'm fairly new to Access and I'm running into a problem with a query. I don't know if I'm approaching this incorrectly or if this is even possible but I've been searching through the posts and haven't found an answer.

The problem is this: I'm trying to run a query that has three columns (well in actuality, many more but the problem boils down to these three); An AutoNumber column, A Percentage column, and A Total column. What I want is for the Total column to equal the Percent column of this record multiplied by the Total column of the record with the previous AutoNumber (unless this is the first record, in which case it would equal the Percent column multiplied by an arbitrary starting number).

For example:

AN PER TOT
1 50% $100
2 50% $50
3 50% $25
4 50% $12.5
and so on...

Thank you in advance!

Shaun M. Brown

Excel Facts

Format cells as time
Select range and press Ctrl+Shift+2 to format cells as time. (Shift 2 is the @ sign).
I don't think you can reference the previous record in a query -- you're looking at code to solve this one. Which version of Access are you using?

Denis

Upvote 0
Also you are living dangerously by using Autonumber like that. Autonumber is designed to give a unique reference to each record not to give a consistent numbering sequence, it can miss numbers for various reasons. If somebody starts a record the "Escapes" out of it you will lose a number, if the computer crashes before a record is saved you can lose a number, and if a record is deleted there is no way to go back and reuse a number. Having said all that, if you are only using the Autonumber field to maintain a sort order of when the records were created it will work OK.

You will certainly need to use code for what you want to do, how depends on what you are doing with the output, is this going straight into a report?

Peter

Upvote 0
bat17,