Question About ActiveCell.Cells(x, y).Select

ParrotGirl

I am editing a macro written by somebody else a number of years ago. (You all know the type. Gives his variables cryptic names, such as "SomeArray4". Throws in 1001 "GoTo" statements, just for good measure. Doesn't document anything with comments.)

I am a programmer from way back in the 1980s, and am very familiar with Visual Basic. However, I have not used Excel that much, and am new to Visual Basic for Applications. I volunteered to help my husband with editing some macros at the company he works for.

The programmer who wrote these macros is using a very unusual method for reading and writing information to the worksheets. Rather than using Range("[range info]").Select, he is using ActiveCell.Cells(x,y).Select. Below is a block of the code, and then I will tell you what is occurring. (Note: I have changed the variable names because I thought they might identify the company.)

Code:
    Counter = 1

Sheets("Sheet1").Select
    Rows("2:65536").Select
    [Sort method here...]
    Range("c2").Select

Do Until ActiveCell.Offset(0, 0) = ""
        ArrayVar1(Counter) = ActiveCell.Offset(0, -2)
        ArrayVar2(Counter) = ActiveCell.Offset(0, 0)
        ArrayVar3(Counter) = ActiveCell.Offset(0, 2)
        ArrayVar4(Counter) = ActiveCell.Offset(0, 4)
        ArrayVar5(Counter) = ArrayVar5(Counter) + ActiveCell.Offset(0, 5)
        ActiveCell.Cells(2, 1).Select

Do Until ActiveCell.Offset(0, 0) = ""
            If ActiveCell.Offset(0, 0) <> ArrayVar2(Counter) Then GoTo 20
            ArrayVar5(Counter) = ArrayVar5(Counter) + ActiveCell.Offset(0, 5)
            ActiveCell.Cells(2, 1).Select
        Loop

Counter = Counter + 1
    Loop