Query to locate missing records

LSPM11

I am trying to setup a query that will return a list of gymnasts who have not turned in a permission slip for a given meet taking place within a given year. I created a query to return all gymnasts that are still active and want to compare the results of this query to the contents of a table that’s used to record the receipt of permission slips. I am new to Microsoft Access and do not know if this is even remotely close to the right approach, but I have included the SQL for what I attempted, which returns no results. I would appreciate any feedback on the best method for obtaining the desired data:

PARAMETERS [Enter Meet Name:] Text ( 255 ), [Enter the Year in which Competition Occurs:] Long;
SELECT qryActiveGymnasts.LastName, qryActiveGymnasts.FirstName, qryActiveGymnasts.Level, qryActiveGymnasts.EmailAddress, qryActiveGymnasts.HomePhone, qryActiveGymnasts.MobilePhone
FROM qryActiveGymnasts LEFT JOIN tblMeetAttendance ON qryActiveGymnasts.[ID] = tblMeetAttendance.[Gymnast]
WHERE (((tblMeetAttendance.Meet)=[Enter Meet Name:]) AND ((tblMeetAttendance.CompetitionYear)=[Enter the Year in which Competition Occurs:]) AND ((tblMeetAttendance.Gymnast) Is Null));

Excel Facts

Lock one reference in a formula
Need 1 part of a formula to always point to the same range? use $ signs: $V$2:$Z$99 will always point to V2:Z99, even after copying
Welcome to the Board!

You should be able to simply do an Unmatched Query between your two queries. There is actually a Query Wizard right in Access that will walk you through the steps of doing this.

Upvote 0
Thank you. I tried to create an unmatched query, but it returns an error message when I attempt to run it:
"This expression is typed incorrectly, or it is too complex to be evaluated. For example, a numeric expression may contain too many complicated elements. Try simplifying the expression by assigning parts of the expression to variables."