Query question -- how to avoid using AND

gkh

:biggrin:

Hello,

I am just learning. I have a query question. I am learning to use OR and AND. I understand that in some cases using AND will result in no records returned when each record is unique.

I want to be able to make a query that will let me focus on two fields. In field #1 I have replicates -- they can be sorted and alphabetical order. In field #2 I have different subjects -- lets say A to Z. I then want to find those records in field #1 that have both B & G -- if I use OR I can get those that have B&G -- but how can I find records that have only B&G?

Thank you,

gkh

Excel Facts

Format cells as date
Select range and press Ctrl+Shift+3 to format cells as date. (Shift 3 is the # sign which sort of looks like a small calendar).
Hello and welcome to Mr Excel.

I think I understand the problem and have copied some SQL below that you can copy into the SQL view of your query. I have assumed that the two fields are a joint primary key such that you can't have repeated instances in both fields.

Try something like this :
SELECT tbl_gkh.field1, Count(tbl_gkh.field2) AS CountOffield2
FROM tbl_gkh
WHERE (((tbl_gkh.field2)="B" Or (tbl_gkh.field2)="G"))
GROUP BY tbl_gkh.field1
HAVING (((Count(tbl_gkh.field2))>1));
I used the table name "tbl_gkh" and the fields names "field1" and "field2". Make sure you use your actual field and table names.

Based on my original assumtion this counts the number of instances of field 2 that equals either B or G and returns field 1 where the count exceeds 1 - in other words, field 1 has both B and G in field 2.

HTH, Andrew. :)

Upvote 0
Hello Andrew,

Thank you very much. I had a thought of using numbers such as 1 or 0 or else true or false (T or F), but as I am such a newbie I have never done SQL or Visual Basic so I will give what you suggest my best shot!

I will look in some texts to see where to put in your SQL statement!

Again, I greatly appreciate your help!

gkh

Upvote 0