Put a total in a table?

Alexx

Hey- I'm just learning Access, and I am way impressed with all the things it can do, but I am running into a problem. I have set up a database with several students, and I need to keep track of their after-school hours. I thought about setting up a table with the dates as fields where I could enter in the hours like a spreadsheet. So far, no problem, but I need to total the hours. Is it possible for me to add a total column? I have tried tons of things, but I can't seem to make anything work. :oops: Thanks for any help!

Excel Facts

Can Excel fill bagel flavors?
You can teach Excel a new custom list. Type the list in cells, File, Options, Advanced, Edit Custom Lists, Import, OK
You can't add a total in a table. You can create a query which would give you a total for each student but you can't create a query which would include the detailed records along with a subtotal. To do that you can create a report or form to display the information you want. The Report Wizard is usually fairly easy to use and allows you to specify totals amongst other things.

Post back if you get stuck :)

Upvote 0
Hi Alexx

This, as dk has posted, is a tricky one. The ability to add a total is dependant on your grouping fields. To do this, you must add your fields, and then group them according to the data present in that field. This, however means that you will get a lot of records that are correct by SQL standards, but give you more than one row with the same field if another field has different data i.e. Same name but different dates.

You could create a query that adds the totals together using Parameters for the dates. Something like

PARAMETERS [Name] TEXT, [Start Date] TEXT, [End Date] TEXT;
SELECT * FROM Table_Name WHERE Name = [Name} and
YourDateFieldStart >= [Start Date] AND YourDateFieldLast <= [End Date]