Purchase Order macros

AndyB86

Office Version
  1. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi all,

I've been tasked with making a new PO system for our business on Excel (the 'old' one was on Microsoft Access, but that's not compatible with new software we've had recently). I've found a few tutorials online and have made up some macros from those, but there are parts of what I've been tasked to do that I can't find any tutorials on, so I'm not sure if it's even possible! I'm not looking for someone to write a whole PO system for me, I'm not that cheeky, just a point in the right direction of if a) it's possible and b) where a tutorial might be. We perhaps only require 10-20 POs a month, so it's not worth buying a pre-made system if it's possible to make one myself on Excel, but I'm very new to macros, VBA etc so I'm having to teach myself from forums and YouTube! What my boss wants is:
  • Auto-generate new PO numbers and auto-clear data from previous PO (I've found a macro to do this which works fine)
  • Maintain all POs within the same workbook so that any new POs are created in a new worksheet (can't find any way to do this so far, only to generate the new PO in the same worksheet, thus erasing the old one)
  • Save a PDF copy of the PO from within each worksheet (I found a macro to do this, it worked on my computer, but then corrupted when I attempted to demonstrate it on someone else's computer, so I ended up having to delete that PO file and start again)
  • Auto-copy data from a previous PO for a repeat order, but with the new PO number and today's date (can't find any way to do this so far) - this one's not as important as the above, we can make do if it's not possible or extremely complicated