Property ThemeColor Type Mismatch

jfgoodhew1

Hi All,

So I'm new to VBA and started out with the For Dummies book. I've got Excel 2010 and I'm struggling with a loop to change tab colors to color 1, 2, 3, ... of a theme. The problem is almost answered here: Colors question [Archive] - Xtreme Visual Basic Talk

My problem is I looked in Excel Help under ThemeColor property, and it says it is a Read/Write Variant.
I dimension SheetColor As Variant.
I then declare it (set its value?) using a string and the value of SheetNum (integer).
Then TypeName(SheetColor) shows String.
Then I get Type Mismatch error and the code fails.

So my desired result looks like this:
Sheet1.Tab.ThemeColor = xlThemeAccent1
Sheet2.Tab.ThemeColor = xlThemeAccent2
Then finally activate Sheet1 again.

I have code I wrote, which I can insert a MsgBox "OK" statement anywhere up to line ThemeColor = SheetColor.
I guess that is the line that has the problem, because SheetColor has type String, but ThemeColor requires a Variant argument.
If I use SheetColor.Value, I get requires an object (Value is a Property so doesn't fit the bill).
I found CStr which can convert anything to a string, but I didn't find an equivalent to help with converting to Variant (should be CVar).

Code:
Private Sub TabColor()
Application.ScreenUpdating = False
    Dim SheetNum As Long
    Dim SheetColor As Variant
    Dim SheetName As String
    Dim Sht As Sheets

For SheetNum = 1 To Sheets.Count Step 1
        Worksheets(SheetNum).Activate
        SheetColor = "xlThemeColorAccent" & SheetNum
            With ActiveWorkbook.ActiveSheet.Tab
                .ThemeColor = SheetColor
            End With
        SheetNum = SheetNum + 1
    Next SheetNum
    Sheet1.Activate
Application.ScreenUpdating = True
End Sub

Any help getting this to work?

Excel Facts

Why are there 1,048,576 rows in Excel?
The Excel team increased the size of the grid in 2007. There are 2^20 rows and 2^14 columns for a total of 17 billion cells.