Problem with GROUPBY and memos

ColinSully

Board Regular
Hi, I am new to working with Access and am working with a database that has already been created.

One fo the modifications I need to make is to change the data type of a comments field from text to memo.

I have succeeded in doing this, however, I get an error when I try to run one of my queries. It appears that Access "can't group on memo" I tried modifying the GROUPBY attribute in SQL but I'm not entirely sure what I'm doing.

The SQL currently reads:

SELECT MAX(MaxComments.DateReference) AS MaxDate, SubNotNullComments.DateReference, SubNotNullComments.Comments, MaxComments.ProjectID

FROM SubNotNullComments INNER JOIN SubNotNullComments AS MaxComments ON MaxComments.ProjectID = SubNotNullComments.projectID

GROUP BY MaxComments.ProjectID, SubNotNullComments.DateReference, SubNotNullComments.Comments

HAVING ((Max(MaxComments.DateReference))=[SubNotNullComments]![DateReference]);

I have bolded the 2 occurences of the comments field that I changed to memo if that helps.

Any ideas on how I might be able to solve this problem would be greatly appreciated.

Many Thanks,
Colin

Excel Facts

Square and cube roots
The =SQRT(25) is a square root. For a cube root, use =125^(1/3). For a fourth root, use =625^(1/4).
Do you really need to change the data type?

If the data you want to store there is >255 characters you might want to consider a seperate table for comments where each Project can have multiple comments.

Upvote 0
I do need to have >255 characters for each comment.

As for the seperate table, I don't know how that would solve my problem as I still need to get the comments onto the querie.

Upvote 0
I dont think that you can group by Memos, I seem to recal a problem as well with sorting on memo fields which can truncate the data back to 255 characters when you try.