Password Protect Checkbox

tlc53

Hi,

I have looked into this for quite sometime but I haven't been able to get anything to work. Can someone help me please?

I currently have a check box which when ticked, returns the date in the same cell (Q7). However, I want to restrict who can check/uncheck this box with a password (password 123 for example).

My check box is called CheckboxDate1
I have renamed sheet1 to Work Bench

Along with standard VBA code possibly need to add a Userform as well? I have very little experience with this section (only discovered it today).

Little lost. Appreciate your help.

Thanks! :)

Excel Facts

Spell Check in Excel
Press F7 to start spell check in Excel. Be careful, by default, Excel does not check Capitalized Werds (whoops)
A MouseMove event is the easiest way to handle this
- but only Active-X checkboxes have these
- the code is a single line

So if you have used FormControl checkbox, delete it and replace it with an Active-X checkbox and name it CheckboxDate1

Designer tab \ click on Design Mode \ right-click on checkbox \ View Code \ replace the default sub (CheckboxDate1_Click) with the one below:
Code:
Private Sub [COLOR=#ff0000]CheckboxDate1[/COLOR]_MouseMove(ByVal Button As Integer, ByVal Shift As Integer, ByVal X As Single, ByVal Y As Single)
    If InputBox("Password") <> "123456" Then MsgBox "You cannot click here"
End Sub

Other request
possibly need to add a Userform as well?
- after testing above please explain what you are trying to achieve

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Thank you for suggesting a MouseMove.
I followed your instructions and now when my mouse goes near the tickbox it asks for a password. When I enter the password 123456 the window then disappears. However, then when I try to tick the box again after entering the password, the box to enter password just keeps coming up. So I can't tick the box. Any idea how I can correct this please? Thanks!

Upvote 0